Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

You know, it’s frustrating – I have this terrible habit of thinking I’ll be consistent, mentioning it, and then failing utterly.

Welcome back to the Book Boulevard. How’ve you been? Thanks for stopping by – I know it’s been a while. But everyone needs a break every now and then, and I’m here to explain why I needed one. As you may have guessed from the title, my life has seen a lot of changes as of late.

  1. I am no longer a student – I am “a productive member of society.”

If you’ll allow a little bit of bragging for a moment: I graduated from university this May with two Bachelor’s degrees. I’m proud of it, but it’s also really screwed with my routine. May itself was chaotic because of finals, and getting set-up at my new job, and then actually starting the new job. I work about 11 hours a day, and am utterly exhausted when I get home (though that appears to be doing better as I grow accustomed to it).

Either way, I’m wearing my big girl panties and it’s definitely different than what it was before. While I don’t have homework, I’m on my feet all day. The hours are comparable to what I had before, but the emotional labor has been turned up a few notches. I’m still getting used to it, certainly, but I think it’s going all right as-is.

  1. I am no longer a dependent – I will be my own head of household.

While I wasn’t a dependent for my mom on our taxes this year, I definitely will not be in spring 2018 either. In about two weeks, I’ll be moving into my very own apartment. It will be the very first time I’ll be living in my own place, paying my own rent and utilities, and trying to be a 100 percent responsible adult.

And I’m terrified.

Excited, too, but mostly terrified. My relationship with money isn’t as good as I would like it to be, and I’m not sure how quickly I’ll be able to improve it. Any tips would be welcome (especially in terms of curbing impulsive spending).

  1. My writing routine… hasn’t really been routine.

I took a break from #writechain in May because I recognized that I would not be able to write every day with finals, graduation, and the like. I needed some time off to take care of myself and my transition into a different segment of life. Trying to get back into it has been incredibly difficult: not only have I felt disconnected from the stories, but I’m exhausted when I get home and don’t really want to effort any more.

 

So what am I going to do? I’m going to keep going to work. I’m going to pack and prepare for the move. I’m going to see what sort of writing routine I can establish – and be fair to myself, rather than upset, if it doesn’t work out the way I want it to. The important part is that I’m writing, that I’m living, that I’m taking care of myself. I hope you’ll bear with me.

Are you taking care of yourself?

3 thoughts on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

  1. Stick to a budget. If you spend something put it in there every evening. It makes it easier to see at the end of the month were it did go. And you are more aware of what you are spending. Save the receipts, so you won’t forget.

    Like

    • I try to do this, and I really struggle with the “sticking to it” part. As I mentioned above, I really struggle with consistency. Saving receipts hasn’t helped me — I’m just as likely to forget I have them as I am to look at them and go “oh, well, I’m exhausted.”

      Like

  2. Wow, I feel all of these things so deeply. I too graduated in May and have been adapting to all of those changes. Working 50+ hours a week, learning to do laundry regularly (not just because I don’t have a paper due), and trying to establish a personal routine. My writing used to be worked around school, but at the same time the constant exposure to knew classes and ideas also drove my writing. Now I feel like nothing drives my writing but my own pure stubbornness…and twitter chats.

    So awesome that you’re figuring all these things out too. I think these transition periods are some of the greatest parts of our lives, growing pains aside. Keep your chin up 😀

    Like

What Do You Think?