#writechain: The Benefits

Hey travelers~

#writechain, part 3

So, I’ve explained to you gems what #writechain is and I’ve addressed some of the concerns with possible solutions, but what are the good parts of it?

That’s what we’re chatting about today.

1) Consistent Progress

Writing every day means that you’re consistently writing something, so you’re consistently moving forward. Whether it’s because you’re writing a blog post, or writing another scene, or working on plotting, or journaling, you’re moving forward. That in itself is something that I personally find really encouraging—the discipline of the whole thing may be difficult, but it keeps me going.

I can look back on yesterday or the day before and tell you exactly what I got done (in part because I keep myself accountable on twitter). I like not wondering whether I was useful. I can celebrate the little victory of that progress.

Because I write every day, I know I’m getting closer to the finish line every day.

2) Creativity as a Muscle

In my opinion, creativity is like a muscle. The more you work it out, the stronger it gets. If you don’t use it, it begins to atrophy. Writing every day is like working out that muscle—and switching up what you’re writing is like giving yourself a rest day or changing up the exercises you’re doing.

To step away from that metaphor, though, writing every day keeps me immersed in the project I’m working on. Because I’m working on two projects, even when I hit a block, I’m moving forward because I’m working out that muscle.

It’s pretty great.

I’ve actually found that because I’m so consistently thinking about my writing, it’s easier to solve problems when they come. I’m more likely to figure out solutions to problems with my projects when I’ve been working on them every day than when I’m not.

3) Don’t Wait for Inspiration

“Write when you’re inspired” is, in my opinion, misguided advice. Inspiration is a fickle thing—if you want to do this and be productive, you have to teach yourself to be inspired when you need to be.

The great thing about writing every day is that it teaches you that. Your brain starts to associate the different aspects of your writing habit with being creative, so you actually inspire yourself by getting into that structure.

The discipline of it helps me productive. I’m not waiting around to be hit with an idea. Writing is work, and I’m working consistently, which has helped me so much more than any other writing habit I’ve attempted to build (except, perhaps, plotting my novels rather than pantsing them, but more on that another time).

Writing every day just works for me.

Just Keep Swimming.gif

At least, these are benefits that I’ve found over the past couple of months at working on my #writechain. It isn’t as long as I’d hoped because I had to break it mid-March, but I’m approaching two weeks going again, and that’s exciting.

Do you write every day? What pros and cons do you see in it?

Safe travels and happy writing ❤

signature

What Do You Think?

