#writechain: Problems and Solutions

#writechain, part 2

After 30 days of writing every day, I broke my #writechain. In my defense, the day was otherwise very productive: I had a long job interview, and then spent the night with my mom (whom I don’t get to see very often). I didn’t even realize until the following morning that I hadn’t written.

Today, I’m starting over.

A couple of weeks ago, I did a post on what #writechain is and my experience with it. Today, I want to talk about three concerns and challenges one might face in attempting to write every day (if one were to try).

BUT WAIT, there’s more! I’ll even be offering a potential solution to each of them! | end bad car salesperson persona.

1) Life ™

For some people, writing every day simply isn’t feasible. You have school and work and family and volunteer hours and sports and church and summoning of satanic forces and eating and sleeping to do. There are only so many hours in the day, and some days just don’t have that hour left for writing.

That’s fair. In writing, as in everything else, you have to figure out what works for you. For some people, writing every day isn’t feasible, but writing for 8 hours on the weekends is. For some people, it may be less. That doesn’t make them any less of a writer than writers who write every day.

Sometimes, life gets in the way.

So what? You do you.

The solution here is to prioritize: where on the pyramid of important things does writing fall for you? Chances are (unless your circumstances are extreme) that you can make time for it. Whether that means getting up half an hour earlier (night owls, shudder with me) or going to bed early to write for 20 minutes, you can little spaces of time to fill with your writing.

The important thing is to protect that time, to defend it. You can let the people in your life know that it’s protected time, like having class or work—you don’t just cancel to go cruising with a friend. Make writing that permanent, daily thing in your life, and treat it as if it’s important—if it is.

2) Burnout

A couple of people I’ve talked to about say they’ll burn out if they write every day. It might work great for a couple of days, but then their creative center has dried up and they need to stop and recharge.

Personally, I don’t encounter this problem, in part because I’m working on two projects simultaneously, but I can see how some people might struggle with this. As with Life ™, for some people, binge-writing just works better.

There is no write way. You’re a writer if you write. Full stop. It doesn’t matter how often or how long your writing sessions are. It only matters that you write.

I mentioned that I’m working on two projects simultaneously, and that has really helped me with this. If I’m stuck on one project, I can work on the other one while my subconscious figures out whatever problem I’m having. I’m still creative and productive every day, and if I get burned out with Project A, I can work on Project B. This naturally doesn’t work for everyone, but it works for me.

3) Lack of Purpose

Yet another pitfall you might face is not knowing what to write—sitting down and staring blankly at the page. Some call it writer’s block; I call it a lack of purpose. The current project isn’t working out so well, so….

….

… nothing.

Sometimes, people will just force out anything—scribble, drabble, blather on just because they say they want to write every day, but instead feel like they’re wasting their time because they lack a purpose with what they’re writing. Personally, I wouldn’t recommend that. If you feel like it’s going to waste your time, don’t do it.

Again, if it doesn’t work for you… it doesn’t work for you.

I maintain purpose through organization and planning ahead. Over the years, I’ve learned that plotting works for me much better than pantsing, and structuring that plotting and writing to fit into monthly and weekly goals has kept me on-track. If you’re pantser, try setting a writing goal at the beginning of each session and/or each week, and keep yourself accountable.

But that’s just one way to address it.

I can see why each of these things may have someone not wanting to write every day. And that’s okay. I gave you guys potential solutions in the hopes that, if you do want to try it, you might have a means of accomplishing it. I broke my #writechain because of Life ™ things, but I personally do like writing every day – and next week I’ll explain why it works for me.

Safe travels and happy writing,

signature

One thought on “#writechain: Problems and Solutions

What Do You Think?

