#writechain

Welcome travelers! It’s time for another metaphor.

writechain

#writechain is a hashtag spearheaded by creator Faye of Writerology (if you’re into psychology, check out her blog, where she takes a psychological approach to writing!). The idea is to write every day—the word count or other amount being whatever you set it as—and to build your chain through that. Each day is one link. If you miss a day, you break the chain, and have to start over. Simple enough, right?

So what’s the point?

Quantity of quality, surprisingly enough. Some of you may rebel at the mere idea, but remember that anonymous quote that talks about the impossibility of editing a blank page?

For now, I wanted to talk a little bit about my personal experience with #writechain and the “rules” that I’ve set for myself.

Today marks the 21st link in my current #writechain. It’s the fourth chain I’ve started (you can follow my progress in this thread on Twitter). This is my longest #writechain so far, and I just hit the magic 21 days that’s supposed to make a habit. Either way, I’m determined. I want to keep writing. I don’t want to give it up.

So, every day, I write circa 500 words (minimum). These can be planning, plotting, character developing, journaling, prose, poetry, even homework (if I deem it creative enough—I don’t count my translation homework, but I count my analysis papers). It doesn’t have to be in one sitting, and it doesn’t have to be for a particular project.

My goal is simply to write. And write. And write.

So far, dare I say it, it’s going all right. Being sick really threw me out of the loop, but other than that, it’s working for me. Reporting my progress every night is a great motivator for me, and I have it as a daily on my Habitica as well.

So it’s been working for me, but that doesn’t necessitate that it will for you. It might not. Or maybe it’ll be wonderful for you and you’ll discover something new about yourself.

That doesn’t matter.

I recommend trying it, just to see (you don’t know until you try, after all), but if it doesn’t work…

… don’t stress about it.

You do you. Writing is a subjective process individual to each writer. Give yourself credit for that. If you’ve found something that works and it isn’t this, don’t feel pressured to try it.

Over the next few of weeks, I’ll be posting two posts to discuss this in a little more detail: 1) to discuss the benefits of writing every day, and 2) to discuss the struggles and/or concerns of writing every day.

Happy writing, travelers, and safe journeys ❤

signature

4 thoughts on “#writechain

What Do You Think?

