I’m Back

I’m back, and I’ll be making a few small changes. Nothing huge (I think) and nothing scary (I hope), but something to breathe a little more life into this blog.

First, I’ll be talking about the changes I will be making over the next few weeks. I would love your opinions and input on the matter.

1) The surface-level changes

You may or may not have noticed that the blog looks a little different. I switched to a new theme because I needed something to change, and I thought the visuals weren’t a bad place to start. If there are any bugs, or something is very difficult to read, please let me know so I can adjust it!

At this point, I don’t think the categories will change. I’m still playing around with the tags, but I will be tagging things: the monikers of my WIPs, the authors of mentioned books, mentioned social media/resources, and the main topic(s) of the post. How do you tag your blog posts? Do you have strategies to keep your blog organized?

2) The content

Discussions posts, above all, are my favorite posts to read and to write. I joined this community to talk about books, after all, more so than just reviewing them. I hope to have discussion posts be the most common on this blogβ€”and I would love your input on what you’d like to chat with me about. I will still be doing book reviews, though I’ll be playing around with the format, and quarterly goals, because I like how they keep me accountable.

The big thing is that I want to talk a lot more about writing. I want to get the opinions of other writers in interview-style advice posts, maybe do a debate post of some sort, and generally continue to explore the writing process I’m experiencing and the resources that I am stumbling across. Writing is important to me, so I would like to share it and talk about it.

3) The schedule

I intended to post twice a week. At this point in my life, that does not seem to be happening. My goal is post at least once a week, with posts scheduled ahead of time, on Saturdays. If the mood strikes me, or if I get very productive and am able to, this may increase in number. We shall see.


For a time, I considered writing a mission statement for this blog. In a way, I suppose this is it, unrefined. I’m still trying to figure out how I want to brand my self, what I want my trademark to be, and maybe this is sort of that, too. I want to help you, you bookish traveler, and I want to talk to you. I want to say useful things, exploratory things that make you think, and I want to think out loud. Really, the changes I’m making aren’t huge. I think it’s primarily that my perspective has changed, and that my approach is changing a bit.

Like I said, small changes. Baby steps.

 

Thanks for reading!
What would you like to see more/less of on the blog?
What are your favorite posts to read?

 

You can friend me on Goodreads, like my Facebook Page,
and follow me on Twitter or Bloglovin’ if you like!
5 thoughts on “I’m Back

  1. Welcome back! It sounds like you’ve got a lot of great things planned for your blog. I’m a bookish traveler (or at least daydreamer about travel), so anything related to those two topics, especially in combination with each other, would be interesting to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome back! It’s great to hear from you πŸ™‚

    I’m glad to see you’re planning on more discussion posts; those are my FAVOURITE posts to read and write, so I’m looking forward to reading some more from you πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

