Thinking about The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut’s Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt by Kara Cooney

It’s Thinking Thursday, so it’s time for another book review! I seem to be on a nonfiction kick when it comes to Blogging for Books right now, which is fine by me! Thank you for the book, which I received free of cost in exchange for this review!

The Woman Who Would Be King

Title || The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut’s Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt [Goodreads]
Author || Kara Cooney
Published || October 13, 2015
Form || Paperback
Genre || Nonfiction – History
Rating || 3/5
Yay || Interesting subject
Nay || The focus veered off a little
Summary || The before, life, and death of Hatshepsut, a female king of Ancient Egypt.


THE REVIEW

Posthumous communication to the King Hatshepsut

You are more than your architecture, your assistants, and your sex life

The hard part of your book was, for me, the way the information meandered away from you. You, dear King, were explained and expressed through the architecture you had built. This would be great if I were able to conceive of it more skillfully. Your assistants were puzzled over nearly as much as you were. While the involvement of your sex life was apparently very important to your religion, the personal aspects of it felt a little superfluous to me, personally.

Your life is fascinating but uncertain

However, I can understand why those things were included. They were included for your sake, because they drew from what little information we have about you. Your life is fascinating—and I learned so much through this description of your story. I wouldn’t have learned half as much if your architecture, your employees, and, even, your sex life weren’t explored even a little bit. So while this story was not perfect, King, it was enough to teach me much more than I had known before.

The feminist spin didn’t hurt either.

Sincerely,
A Modern Blogger

Recommend? Yes
Recommended for? People interested in Ancient Egypt


Thanks for reading!
Have you read The Woman Who Be King??
What did you think?

 

You can friend me on Goodreads, like my Facebook Page,
and follow me on Twitter or Bloglovin’ if you like!
6 thoughts on “Thinking about The Woman Who Would Be King: Hatshepsut’s Rise to Power in Ancient Egypt by Kara Cooney

  1. This book is quite appealing!

    I minored in Classical studies, though we rarely focused on ancient Egypt, which was disappointing as it’s one of my favorite periods in history.

    I’ll have to add this to my TBR. Thanks for the review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

