Quarterly Goals #2: January, February, and March 2016

Back in August, I did a post on the goals that I had for the rest of 2015. This was inspired by the lovely Jenna Moreci, whose writing videos are also incredibly helpful. In this post, I will be going over last quarter’s goals, talking about how well I achieved them (or didn’t), and what goals I have for this quarter. This is a bit of a long post, so feel free to skip around among sections~

Last Quarter’s Goals

1. Post once a week or a total of 18 times: PROGRESS.
I posted 16 times, including the post in August, before the end of the year. Turns out that the goal wasn’t incredibly far-fetched. However, the semester ended the first week of December, so during the actual semester, I only posted 11 times. Oops.

2. Turn in every homework assignment on time. NOPE.
Ehem. Well, things got busy, and with some of the assignments, I just really couldn’t anymore. I will now be avoiding a professor in my major because of it, actually.

3. 200 blog followers: YES.
Thank you SO much to everyone who follows me, and reads my posts, and likes them, and comments on them! I adore having conversations with you and I appreciate you ❤

4. 100 Twitter followers: YES.
This one is a little overwhelming, because I apparently broke 300 this month. That is so amazing. Wow, thank you.

5. Good reads challenge: CLOSE.
2015 Reading Challenge
I read 55 out of the 60 books I had hoped to read, which is just barely within 10 percent of success. This is really encouraging, especially as I ended up reading roughly 10 books in the past week or so alone.

6. NaNoWriMo: YES.
nano-2015-winner-banner
Not only did I decide to participate, I WON. I won NaNoWriMo for the first time in 6 years! It felt so amazing that I just had to share the lessons it taught me.

VERDICT: 3/6 goals achieved with only 1 complete failure. I think that’s pretty decent. Now, on to next quarter’s goals!

Reading Goals

1. Read 60 books for the 2016 Goodreads Challenge.

2016 Reading Challenge Beginning
This requires me to read 15 books per quarter exactly, which I think is manageable. I revisited my post on my reading challenge from 2015, and I liked that the goal felt decent without being overwhelming. I think with some discipline I could definitely do this.

2. Keep track of the number of books I buy so I can buy fewer books.
I’m not sure yet how I’ll do this—I might keep a spreadsheet of days and quantities, so that I can also track when I’m buying the most books. I want to do this because I have an embarrassing amount of unread books on my shelves that I am attempting to remedy.

3. Finish 5 series in 2016.
So, I adore series, but I never seem to finish them. Thus, my goal is to finish some of them this year, and I would like to finish at least 1 by the end of the this quarter. Candidates include but are not limited to: the Grisha Trilogy, the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, the Blood of Eden trilogy, the Iron Fey series, and the Goblin Wars trilogy. They’re all series to which I have read and enjoyed the first novel, but never continued.

4. Read more superhero/superpower novels.
I have a very specific TBR for The Project, and I would really like to do the reading to familiarize myself with the novelized tropes (as compared to the comic tropes). I hope to read at least 3 of the books on the list by the end of this quarter.

Writing Goals

1. Write at least 80 out of the 90 days in Quarter 1.
That comes up to about 90 percent of the days that will be coming by. I try to write every day, but sometimes it just doesn’t work out for me, and that’s okay. I think I’ll use myWriteClub for this, actually…
Beard Stroke

2. Finish plotting The Project.
Plot the Project Empty myWriteClub
So far, I’ve got a rough outline based on the 27 chapter/9 block/3 act structure (I will be talking more about this in a blog post soon), but I hope to get character arcs mapped out and hopefully get my scenes planned out so that I’m as prepared as possible for the next goal. The image is a screenshot of the goal on myWriteClub (which is an awesome resource that I will hopefully do a post on soon).

3. Write chapters 1 through 21 of The Project.
This may seem a little ridiculous, considering I’m still in school and work and such. HOWEVER, I’m taking an independent study this semester that counts on my writing the chapters because I will be turning them in for a grade so this kind of has to happen or I might not pass that class. Good motivation, huh?

4. Find 1 or 2 critique partners and many more beta readers.
The other week I did a post on what I understand them to be, and I’ll be adding much more information to a page attached to The Project. If anyone is interested already, just let me know~

Blogging Goals

1. Get to 260 blog followers and 20 Bloglovin’ followers.
I would really like to expand my audience and reach more people. That way I can have more and more bookish and writerly discussions! I exceeded my goal from last quarter by enough that I hope this is doable. It’s only 24 people. That’s doable right?

2. Do this by posting more consistently.
2015 Posting Activity
Last year, I did not post very consistently, as you can see. I hope to post once or twice a week in 2016, and am currently looking at Tuesdays and Saturdays as my posting days, though reviews would still go up on Thursdays as I write them (in fact, you can expect one next Thursday!). I hope that I will be able to do this by actually scheduling posts ahead of time.

3. Do 20 discussion posts for the 2016 Book Blog Discussion Challenge hosted by Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ It Starts at Midnight.
2016 Discussion Challenge
The challenge is exactly what it says on the tin. You can sign up here, if you’re interested—and I recommend it. Discussion posts are honestly my favorite ones to do, so having a goal shouldn’t impose any undue pressure. This would put me in the creative conversationalist section, and means I have to do 5 posts by the end of March to keep on track.

4. Edit my follow list.
I hope to edit the list of people I follow to remove inactive blogs and find more blogs to follow. In particular, I’ll be looking for more blogs that focus on writing, and on bookish discussions. If you have any suggestions, please share in the comments (including your blog ;])!

5. Reach 330 Twitter followers.
I don’t want to overreach on this one, since I’ve been so fortunate already, but I would also like to reach a larger platform here. That way, I can talk to more people about things, just as for my blog, and I hope to participate in more chats as well.

Personal Goals

I really debated about whether to include this section, but I figure it wouldn’t hurt to share a bit about what’s going on in my life.

1. Renew my passport so I can study abroad.

2. Do well in my classes and impress my boss with events at work.
I’m lumping these two together because they’re both uni-related. Just little things that I won’t know about until April-May, but still.

3. Purge my room a bit of paperwork, knick knacks/dust collectors, and clothes that I don’t wear anymore and can donate.
I have way too much stuff, and I think it’ll be good to get rid of some of it. It’ll make it easier to not feel cluttered mentally, too, I think.

4. Have fun with family during spring break.
My aunts are visiting from across the pond in March and I am so excited.

5. Save money.
I’m hoping to put something like 10 percent of every paycheck into savings not to be touched. We shall see how this goes, what with my new car insurances and gas bills. I may adjust this (or start up a gas fund) for next quarter depending on how it goes.

6. Get better at driving my manual transmission car.
Because I gave myself a little Christmas present.

VERDICT: 19 goals. If I achieve 10 of these, I’ll consider it a pass. Check back on April 1st to see how well I did!

 

Thanks for reading!
What do you think of these goals? Manageable or ridiculous?
What goals/resolutions do you have for 2016?

 

You can friend me on Goodreads
and follow me on Twitter or Bloglovin’ if you like!
10 thoughts on “Quarterly Goals #2: January, February, and March 2016

  1. Goodness, I love how detailed your goals are! I must admit my goals tend to be far less structured than yours, but I think sharing them on the blog is such a lovely way to show your progress to your readers. I’m sending so much support your way for achieving all of these lovely things. Let us hope this quarter is the best yet. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Seconding those above you – the more detailed your goals are, the more achievable they seem, I think. Or at least, they’re not vague. And I think quarterly goals are such a good idea! I used to do monthly goals on my blog and sort of…forgot about them. I might start one of those bullet journal things and do it that way.

    All the best with your goals!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How everything on here is outlined and structured is amazing. I wish I could do that but my goals and posts and what not are all outlined in my actual planner. Which with my craziness everything is color coded. Well good luck with 2016! I hope you accomplish everything.

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

