The Reader Problems Tag

To be perfectly honest, tags like to run away from me. I have been tagged for altogether too many. I think I will slowly–slowly–catch up on them. It is, however, really intense trying to find other people to tag, so I may not be doing that (as I have not done it here). Sorry~ Also, thanks to Joey @ Thoughts and Afterthoughts for tagging me 😀

1) You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

So, there are currently 2 methods to this madness, especially since 20,000 doesn’t feel as though it’s as far away as maybe it should. The first is a a TBR Jar-like system that I described in one of my first ever posts. The second is in reference to The Project, for which I have formulated a rather specific TBR, which you can find here. Within that smaller TBR, I usually turn either to Twitter, or just ask myself what I’m in the mood for.

2) You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

More often than not, I’m committed. I’ve heard of mediocre books that had splendid endings, but it’s also the kind of thing where I prefer to have the whole book available for critique, to understand why I didn’t like it.

3) The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, yet so far away on your Goodreads Reading Challenge. Do you quit or commit?

Ehem. I am 15 books away from completing it (which means I’ve read six books since I last talked about it), and I have 9 days. I’m going to keep reading. I’m going to keep my hopes up, and I’m going to devour all the graphic novels.

4) The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

I’m going to move on with my life after I play Tetris with the books on my shelf. This isn’t a big deal to me, honestly.

5) Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

The internet is the most useful thing here. There will always be 1-star reviews. If there are not, then something is fishy, and I shouldn’t care, probably.

6) You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I’m going to reach for the tissues, and take a few deep breaths, but I’m probably going to cry anyway–like I did with Magonia. So much ugly sobbing.

7) A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find the synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?

I am such a rereader. I adore rereading books, and I’m even okay with the fact that I’m not exploring new books during that time. I would be eager, probably to reread the first book, though sometimes I just jump right into the sequel and let memories come back. If that doesn’t work, then I will almost definitely reread.

8) You do not want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

Honestly, it’s gotten to the point that I apparently get this look on my face (that might not be polite at all) that hints to the borrower-to-be that this is not okay. They should not be asking. Get away from my babies.

9) You’ve picked up and put down five books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?

I honestly don’t know that this has ever happened to me–at least, not in the sense that I put down the book because I don’t want to read it anymore. I imagine I would just stop trying to read for a little while and play video games or watch netflix or something instead. The other solution would be to reread an old favorite.

10) There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

…I don’t tend to keep up-to-date on new releases. I wouldn’t buy many of them right away at all. I might buy one or two of them later, but that’s only if I remember them and am still interested.

11) After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

That “can’t wait to get to” phrase throws me off. I can wait to get to any book I have on my shelves, honestly. I have, for some of them, waited a long time (it took me a year to pick up A Game of Thrones and even longer to give the sequel to Wizard’s First Rule a chance). I just wait. Oh, well.

 

Thanks for reading!
Feel free to do this tag, if you like!
What are your reader problems? Anything not here?

 

You can friend me on Goodreads
and follow me on Twitter or Bloglovin’ if you like!
8 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

  1. Oh, being a reader is a tough job! So many little problems. Just like you, I absolutely adore rereading books, even if it means missing out on a new release or something. I’m down for a series re read any day over a new release!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahh this is so great! I LOVED READING THIS. 😀 I currently have an overwhelming TBR and to be honest? I’m just ignoring it and hoping it calms down by itself. AHHAH JOKE JOKE. I mean, I am ignoring it, but still…hehe. I probably will ban myself from the library until I catch up.
    And so true! There’s always SOMEONE giving a book a low review that you can read and commiserate with. ;D
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

