On My 2015 Reading Challenge

Today is the 11th of December. As of the time of me writing this, I have read 39 books of 60 for my Goodreads Reading Challenge. That means I have 21 left in about 20 days. Can I do? Will I do it? Let’s talk about it.

Goodreads Reading Challenge

Why did I sign up for 60 books in a year?

And, by extension, why did I participate in the Judge a Book by Its Cover challenge? At the time, I was new to blogging, bushy-tailed and bright-eyed, and they sounded like fun. I wanted to see if I could read things that fit into categories, but I also wanted to challenge myself to read more in general, and even hoped that I would be able to read more consistently. That didn’t exactly happen, unfortunately.

As for the 60 books… Last year, I challenged myself to read 50, I think it was, and succeeded at reading 46, according to Goodreads. I want for 60 because I figured I could use the beginning of the year (as I hadn’t before). Like I said, I wanted to challenge myself. It was right there in the name. Did you challenge yourself?

What was I thinking?

I was thinking that I wanted to read more. I am busy—I work a decent amount, in addition to heavy classes and a long commute, and that isn’t even mentioning social “obligations.” I was thinking that I was new to the community and I wanted to do something that related to the community, and I wanted… I wanted a lot of things, I suppose. I didn’t succeed, unfortunately.

Yet.

How will I proceed from here?

I intend to proceed with the utmost of optimism. I believe that I can still hit those 60 books of 2015. I’ll be reading a fair few graphic novels (I read Rat Queens and it really got my in the mood—looooved those two volumes) and I hope to finish several books I’ve on my ‘Currently Reading’ list on Goodreads as well. I intend to read books that are a little smaller, maybe, but we’ll see how that part goes.

Will I do it again next year?

At this point, I figure I’ll be doing the Goodreads Reading Challenge again, but we’ll see how many books I’ll set it up to. What do you think?

As a whole, I like the reading challenge. I’ve learned that it doesn’t help with consistency—that is still something I struggle with personally, and something I am working on otherwise, too. I don’t think I’ll be participating in any other challenges: my goal is to read more, not to limit my reading to specific categories (my TBR Jars do give me a fair few options). I’m still figuring out what a reasonable goal will be for me.

 

Thanks for reading!
Do you participate in reading challenges?
Why? How are you doing in yours?

 

You can friend me on Goodreads
and follow me on Twitter or Bloglovin’ if you like!
27 thoughts on “On My 2015 Reading Challenge

  1. My goal this year is 40 and I meant to reach it and even ordered some of the oldest books on my TBR in preparation! But I think TBD is getting dragged down in Christmas orders and I’m also coping with exams and such … so I might not meet it. But I think that’s all right anyways — so long as we read books, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, 21 books in 20 days sounds like a pretty tough challenge but, hey, you never know. Now you’ve got me thinking about book challenges. Last month I read eight novels, so I’m thinking, yay, I’ll challenge myself to read 96 books next year.
    Not.
    It’s taken me the first twelve days of December just to get through one 375-page book so, yeah, I’ll definitely want to consider work, family concerns, etc. before setting reading goals for 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel you on this. I set my challenge to 75, because hey, there are 365 days in a year, right? I’m 21 books behind, and that’s only because I just added a bunch of the books I edited this year. *sighs* I don’t know if I’ll hit my goal, but I’m definitely going to try. And even if I don’t, next year I know I’m not reducing that number.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loooove reading challenges, but basically only do the goodreads one. I know tons of bloggers host their own challenges and it’s pretty fun! But I get overwhelmed easily. hehe. I just like to read whatever I feel like. I’m a bit of a mood reader like that. *nods* I definitely surpassed my challenge set for this year, but I tend to aim low so I can overachieve. And comics are definitely a nice easy way to bump up the numbers right?! No regrets. xD Comics and graphic novels are so FUN.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like the Goodreads challenge, but I hate when people turn it into a competition. For me, I use it to challenge myself to read more than I think I can in a year, and I actually change my goal from year to year. I think I set mine to 30 books every year when I was in college, and I exceeded it. Then I graduated, and didn’t find a job right away, so I set it to more. Now that I’m working, I’ve lowered it a bit, but it’s always nice to see where I get from year to year.

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

