Random Writing Update [3]

It’s “random” because I don’t really intend to follow any schedule. I will update when I have something to say about my writing progress ^^

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

It’s day 23. I’ve fallen majorly behind. I am still alive, and this post is proof of that.

Current Word Count

I’m currently at 20765 words. I am about 17k words behind, and I have nine days to write about 30k words. I can totally do this. I will potentially update this post this evening once I’ve actually written something.

Sneak Peek

“Is something the matter?”

Mateo looked up, meeting Elle’s eyes, and flopped dramatically onto the keyboard. “Traveling is so expensive,” he whined, glancing at the monitor again.

She placed one hand on her hip and lifted an eyebrow at him. “Isn’t that all you do? Travel?”

“Well, yeah, but I don’t have to pay for it, usually. I don’t really know how to get across the Atlantic without paying in this case, though.” He grunted at the computer, and waved her over to look at the prices. “And these are for coach. Coach doesn’t even have leg room, Elle. I can’t exactly cut them off and reattach upon landing.”

She laughed, and placed a gentle hand on his shoulder. “Well, maybe you can make a little money. You know, get a job?” She shrugged. “Or buy a lottery ticket and get lucky. You’re not psychic so you’re actually allowed.”

He lifted an eyebrow at her.

“There’s a city ordinance in place that bans anyone with psychic abilities from buying a lottery ticket or otherwise collecting lottery winnings,” she explained. “Even if you don’t have any foresight abilities, you’re locked out.”

“How do they know?”

“Lottery ticket paper has been coated in material that reacts to psychic abilities of different flavors.” She shrugged again. “I don’t know much more than that. My knowledge of magic is limited—I never really had to deal with it.”

Currently Struggling

So, the past couple of weeks have been kind of crazy real life-wise, which is why I haven’t been blogging much (I’m so sorry about the unannounced hiatus). I also haven’t been writing much. I know I’m really far behind, but I’m determined to make a dent. At this point, I realize that I might not make the full goal, but any progress is still progress, and I am very proud of that.

Currently Rocking

The planning, actually. I’m going kind of crazy with note cards and with Scapple, and it’s really working out for me.

Current Strategy

So, the people who made Scrivener also made this program called Scapple, which basically allows you to make webs/mind maps on your computer. I don’t like to do them by hand because I have issues with the way space works (especially running out of it) and the erasing necessary to make changes. Basically, the paper ends up looking gross.

But then I came across Scapple and I kind of fell in love. It fixes all the problems I had with doing webs by hand, and it just makes me happy. I’m filling out plot with it and just throwing ideas down on virtual paper.

Camp NaNoWriMo Mind Map in Scapple

This is zoomed out so you can see the whole thing (which is also why chances are good you can’t read it). Yes, there is a lot of text. I’m using the free trial right now, but I’m seriously considering spending 15 USD to get the full version because I can see myself using it in future.

I’ve also been using index cards to get my scenes figured out from the idea vomit that is in Scapple (though the idea vomit is organized idea vomit). They’re color-coded (which I’m thinking of matching to Scrivener) and organized by the same plot structure that I’m using for Scapple.


Thanks for reading!
Are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo?
What’s your word count?


You can friend me on Goodreads and follow me on Twitter or Bloglovin’ if you like!
4 thoughts on “Random Writing Update [3]

  1. That mind map is awesome! That’s great to have a tool like that since like you said, it’s hard to get the space right on that without messing everything up. I tried to do NaNoWriMo last year but my story idea just kind of fell apart as I was writing and I ended up having no idea where to take it. Maybe I’ll try again in the future. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

