Random Writing Update [2]

It’s “random” because I don’t really intend to follow any schedule. I will update when I have something to say about my writing progress ^^

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

Welcome to day 5! On day 3, I decided that I didn’t really know my characters well enough to keep working on the project I was working on. Instead, I switched gears to reviving a project I’d worked on about 4 years ago, but which had only one chapter written (a chapter that desperately needed rewriting anyway). So far, it’s really going well.

Current Word Count

I’m currently at 7475 words, and in the midst of writing, so we’ll see how it goes for the rest of the night.

Edit | I finished off my writing session for the day at 8113 words–just above the target.

Sneak Peek

Fabric was disturbed by hands passing into it. “All this for a fucking bug.” The speaker heaved a sigh.

“Would have been worse for both of us if we didn’t get it, though.” He could just picture it being accompanied by a shrug. If he weren’t running and trying not to run into anyone, he might have breathed a bit easier.

A grunt of acknowledgment followed. “Lucky I got good stamina.”

“Just let’s head back to the car, call the boss, and arrange a new pick-up.” The other sounded impatient.

Holding his breath was a terrible idea right now, but if they went in the other direction before they caught wind, he would be fine until chance happened to bring them together again. Considering how short a time he spent in any given place, those odds were low. He banked on them forgetting him, though.

“You got the keys?”

“Yeah. Just need to grab the number.” More disturbed fabric, bit of paper rustling. A quiet grunt, which sounded vaguely confused.

Fuck.

“The little shit stole my wallet!”

Time to keep on running. At least this time he had a good head start.

Currently Struggling

My current problem is trying to balance Camp with my other activities. I do some collaborative writing that I don’t really want to put on old for the month, and I don’t want to stop reading, or being social, but Camp NaNo has been a little consuming and a little exhausting. Maybe I’ll find the balance this coming week.

Currently Rocking

Keeping a steady writing pace. I’m definitely keeping up on my word count—even when I completely changed direction on Friday night.

Current Strategy

As I mentioned in my last update, I’ve been using Scrivener. I’ve dedicated a whole folder to minor characters to keep track of when I mention them and when I describe them, etc.


Thanks for reading!
Are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo?
What’s your word count?


You can friend me on Goodreads and follow me on Twitter or Bloglovin’ if you like!
8 thoughts on “Random Writing Update [2]

  1. Good for you!!
    I’ve thought about trying to do NaNoWriMo but so far I don’t feel like I have enough concepted out to get very far. But maybe that’s just my fear talking…

    Liked by 1 person

    • The motto of Camp NaNo is getting rid of the inner editor. Just a thought.

      But some people need planning. So delving into the concept might take priority for you and I encourage you to do that (and if there’s anything I can do to help, do let me know ^^). It is a bit of a matter of recognizing, though, when you’re really not ready and when you’re just afraid you aren’t. That part is entirely up to you to distinguish.

      Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

