Random Writing Update [1]

It’s “random” because I don’t really intend to follow any schedule. I will update when I have something to say about my writing progress ^^

Camp-Participant-2015-Web-Banner

So, it’s day 1, and I think things are going okay. This post got a bit long, especially since I may not include the first section in future posts unless I found a new thing I’m super excited about. Feel free to skip around as your interest dictates ^^

Currently Using

Chapter One Notebook
I’ve been using this notebook for general notes on my story–character diamonds, plot forms, lists, scene structure, and so on and so forth. Eventually, I think I’ll do a blog post explaining what each of my notebooks is for, but today is not that day.

I’m trying to go into this as prepared as possible, which means preparing as I go as well. I have amassed a handful of things that I, personally, find useful. They won’t work for everyone, and I’m not saying they’re amazing right off the bat, but that I think they have something to offer to someone like me. To be perfectly plain and honest, these are the only works I’ve consumed by the authors mentioned–I can’t judge their actual skill in applying these techniques.

For the character side of things, I’ve been leaning a bit heavily on 45 Master Characters by Victoria Lynn Schmidt, which has also helped me out with plot. I intend to supplement this with The Complete Writer’s Guide to Heroes & Heroines by Cowden, LaFever, and Viders.

To supplement my plot, I’ve also been using Kirt Hickman’s Revising Fiction–I know I’m not actually revising fiction, but I find this to be a very readable and very useful tool at pretty much any stage of the writing process. As a science fiction writer, he gives advice on worldbuilding, setting, character, plot, and the actual writing form itself in ways I find very helpful. KM Weiland’s checklist for connecting character arcs to plot is also something I’ve been very attached to, though I haven’t finished reading it.

Scrivener has also been a wonderful writing help, especially in terms of structure. I’m actually keeping scenes separated (for the time being) which will make revising later significantly easier, I hope. If you’re not familiar with this writing processor, you can check out the official website. It’s for both PC and Mac, and I find the price reasonable–because I’ve never won NaNoWriMo (there’s a discount if you do!), I paid full price for it, and I do think it was totally worth it. You can also check out Lori’s tips on using it/introduction which I think is a lovely overview.

I’ve also been doing sporadic things on Twitter and will continue to be sporadic there as I document my writing journey in 140 characters or less.

Current Word Count

My intended word count goal is 50,000, and I’m hoping I don’t have a break in sanity and actually leave it at that. So far today, I’ve written 1734 words, which is just above what I need for one day. Honestly, about half of that is rambling that I know I will discard upon revision (and have placed into a folder accordingly), but the opening I have now I’m rather satisfied with. So far, I’m writing in chronological order. We’ll see how that goes.

Sneak Peek

“Come on, fellas. Don’t worry about it. You know I’m good for it.”

I paused on my way into the building, stopping the door with my hand as it fell shut behind me. I didn’t want to make a noise, and the door clicking shut would definitely attract attention. I wasn’t supposed to be hearing this, but… curiosity killed the cat, I suppose.

Murmuring followed, from a voice I didn’t recognize. I could feel Jim’s fear, like cool wisps of fog around my senses.

“No, really. By the end of the month. I promise.” I could hear it in his voice, too. “We all know I know how this ends if I don’t.” He let out a bit of nervous laughter. Was Jim gambling? I didn’t know he liked to gamble.

Currently Struggling

I really struggled with the beginning, as I mentioned above, but I think I’ve got an okay place to go from here. Here’s hoping I don’t lose traction.

Currently Rocking

Even while I was floundering in terms of how to get anything to happen, I was pumping out good pieces of description, which will definitely come in use later on–even if it’s setting description not relevant to the entire plot. Oops.

Current Strategy

My current strategy is actually not to get ahead, as it has been in past years. Rather, I worry about figuring out today’s word count–and then I moved on to figuring out where I want to go from here. What do I need to accomplish with the scene I haven’t finished, and what needs to come next? Hopefully, that will make writing easier for tomorrow.


Thanks for reading!
Are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo?
What’s your word count?


You can friend me on Goodreads and follow me on Twitter or Bloglovin’ if you like!
One thought on “Random Writing Update [1]

What Do You Think?

