The Ultimate Book Tag

Hello everyone! Since I’m still working on a 3-part series, I thought I’d do a tag for this week. This is the Ultimate Book Tag, which I found on Books with Bite, who credited it to Chapter Chicks. I hope you have as much fun reading this as I do giving the answers!

Preface: I do not have favorites. Any questions asking for a favorite will receive either a negating answer, or the first thing that comes to mind.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

No, I do not. I never have, fortunately–I can even play video games in the car without feeling ill.



2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Although I’ve only read the one book by him and it was translated, I have to say Italo Calvino. If on a winter’s night a traveler was a brilliant mixture between second person, stream of consciousness, mystery, and general confusion. The language was just so beautiful, and the point of the book–the pursuit of story–was just wonderfully suited to his writing.



3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter because 1) the main characters are consistently more interesting than the side characters, 2) the feature romantic relationships (Harry and Ginny, Hermione and Ron) are not abusive as far as I can tell, and 3) I prefer the writing style and the intricacy of the plot, which I found lacking in Twilight. Interesting to note may be that both ended up on my Top 5 Wednesday for Worst Series Enders.


4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

I carry a backpack, which I don’t call a book bag but which some might. In it, I have various writing utensils, notebooks for taking notes, often my laptop, and, not as often as I like, my lunch.



5. Do you smell your books?

Yes, especially the used or older ones, because the chemicals just blend together wonderfully. The new ones don’t usually smell as good, but I’ve been finding more and more that satisfy me. They smell especially good if they’ve been sitting in a hot mailbox for a while (no, I don’t do this on purpose, I just get books shipped to me because it’s cheaper).



6. Books with or without little illustrations?

I tend to read more without illustrations, but I do appreciate the ones that have illustrations. I recently bought The Slow Regard of Silent Things for a friend, and the illustrations in that were beautiful. Besides, the ones in The Mysterious Benedict Society really add to the tone of the story.
Cover image courtesy of Google Images



7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

Twilight really fits this for me, though I want to go back and reread it and see what I think about it now. There are very problematic aspects to it, but there are also parts of it that I will point to as done well (I will defend the vampire mythology at least in part as being original, and the side characters are in better shape than the main characters).



8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

They aren’t really funny stories, but I remember being so incredibly angry when a friend of mine dropped my copy of The Dragon Rider by Cornelia Funke along a countertop, causing it to have a massive gash along the front cover. I am no longer friends with this person (though for other reasons).



9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

The Bremen Town Musicians, which is a German folk tale in the form of a pamphlet more than a book.



10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

I’m pretty sure this is either Webster’s College Dictionary or my copy of The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Mythology. The latter is definitely the heaviest book on my shelf–it’s huge.
Cover image courtesy of Google Images



11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I do write. I’ve been debating taking part in Camp NaNoWriMo, but I think I’ll have to wait until June to fully commit to that (school tends to get in the way). I hope to be an author in the future, but I’m trying to be practical as well, which is why I’m attending college.



12. When did you get into reading?

In the 90s, when I was tiny and my father would read aloud to me from our fairy tale collections. I’ve loved story for as long as I can remember.



13. What is your favorite classic book?

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, honorable mention going to Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson and Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.



14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Not consistently. Turns out I’m not so great at writing non-analytical, argumentative essays. Or maybe my instructor just didn’t like me (I wouldn’t blame her–I didn’t like her much either).



15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

I would probably say thank you and ask why the person thought this book would be a good present in the nicest sort of way–after all, if the person has good reasons, I might give the book another shot. If not, I’d probably sell it on half.com or gift it to someone else.

… I prefer gift cards or books bought off the lists that I give out.



16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

It’s becoming more popular since the last book was released, but The Magicians by Lev Grossman is like an adult, kind of mind-screw version of Harry Potter. I haven’t read The Hunger Games so I can’t speak for that.


17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming blogging?

I am not sure yet. If you have something, go ahead and let me know down below. Maybe I’ll revisit this in a few months, once I get more used to the blogging thing as a whole.


18. What is your favorite word?

Lullaby, I guess. I just enjoy the way it sounds.



19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I identify as a nerd, personally, though I’m sure there are nerds that say otherwise. I rarely use the word “dweeb” so it never really comes to mind, and I tend to use “dork” for more of a situational, “you’re being silly” name.


20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I have read more vampires than fairies, and would really like to read more about fairies in general as a result. I’ve found stories exploring fairies to be a bit harder to find because of the vampire craze that’s swept through YA recently.



21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Shapeshifters, for the same reason as above.



22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

I’ve been a little obsessed with ghosts recently, and I’d really like to see something that feels more original to me than a haunted house situation (although I adore the Mediator series by Meg Cabot).



23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Vampires. I tend to find the mythology variation for them more interesting and more engrossing than I tend to find zombies. I think vampires tend to lend themselves to more variation than do zombies, which I think dominate primarily in the horror genres (though I know of examples that wouldn’t necessarily be considered horror).



24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Neither, probably? I find they tend to be done very dramatically in general. If they’re done well, however, I could definitely go for both. It’s always about being done well.



25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Action-packed with romance, though I’d prefer something else in place of action-packed. Mystery, maybe? Political intrigue? I’m not a huge fan of fight scenes in books, which is what my brain translates “action-packed” into.


Thanks for reading! I tag everyone! Have fun with this~
Do you agree with me on anything? Do you disagree?
I’d love to hear your answers!
5 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

What Do You Think?

