T5W || Books That Made You Think

Top 5 Wednesday is created by GingerReadsLainey. Each week, we choose 5 books according to the topic that Lainey has posted. This week, we’re talking about the top five books that really made us think. So here are mine, in no particular order:

1. Unwind by Neal Shusterman

Have you read this? If you haven’t, and you want a dystopian without a love triangle, go for it. Unwind is set in a world where abortion isn’t a thing anymore: but children can be unwound between the ages of 12 and 17. That is, they can donate their bodies for organ transplant (and 99 percent of them is used in transplants of various sorts). This is an unnerving take on what the division between the pro-life and pro-choice factions could lead up to, if allowed to be taken to extremes.

2. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

I’ll probably do a blog post on this book eventually just because of my history with it, but it’s now one of my favorites. It makes me think of how language is used, especially because of this video by RonLit. The way the novel is written itself is really interesting to think about as well, because it’s a style to which I was unaccustomed when I first picked it up.

3. Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan

While I didn’t really enjoy reading this book, it did provide some food for thought on the nature of humanity in desperate straits, as well as the nature of religion to be both comforting and oppressing. For that, I think this book is interesting, but I doubt I will pick up the sequel.

4. The Island of Dr. Moreau by H.G. Wells

A short little book that took me by surprise in a few moments. The last chapter especially is a very interesting take on PTSD, and I remember being impressed by the inclusion thereof.

5. Lady Susan by Jane Austen

I’ll try to avoid doubling up on an author in the future, but I couldn’t resist putting this on here. The use of perspective in this epistolary novel is brilliant–it really shows off how despicable Lady Susan is, but also how this is entirely dependent upon the person talking about her. It’s something to really keep in mind when we evaluate character and such.

What are the top 5 books that you made think?

Covers were collected from Google Images
4 thoughts on “T5W || Books That Made You Think

  1. Out of your five, I’ve only read Unwind but I completely agree with you. I thought about this book for weeks after I finished it. It’s been about a year since I read it and I still think about it sometimes.

    Like

    • I haven’t continued beyond Unwholly, but apparently the whole series gets really intense about the matter. I think it’s a really interesting way to address a modern issue like this one. It’s fridge brilliance and horror both.

      Like

What Do You Think?

